Skip to main content

Strasbourg, European capital

Strasbourg is not only the capital of Alsace and the capital of Christmas, it is also a European capital with many institutions to visit!

The European Parliament

The European Parliament is the parliamentary body of the European Union whose 705 members from 27 states are elected every five years by direct universal suffrage to represent the 450 million voters. The parliament has a legislative, budgetary and political role.

The MEPs have been gathering in this impressive 220,000m² building since 1999! Inside, in addition to the 800-seat hemicycle, there are also numerous offices and committee rooms, making the Parliament the largest transnational electorate in the world and the main institution of the European Union.

The Council of Europe

Created by the Treaty of London on 5 May 1949, the Council of Europe defends democracy, human rights and the rule of law in Europe through various actions such as: international conventions, monitoring missions or recommendations to its member states. Currently, 46 member countries representing approximately 675 million people are members.

The Parliamentarium Simone Veil

Inaugurated in 2017, this space is divided into three areas: a 360° cinema, a role-playing game for groups and a series of interactive modules. The aim of the parlamentarium is to inform visitors about the workings of the European Union and in particular the parliament to which it is physically attached and the role of the MEPs who sit in it. The parlamentarium also provides an opportunity to make contact with the Members.

Lieu d’Europe

Located in the former Domaine du Kaysersguet, Lieu d’Europe is a place of education for European citizenship open to all. Its aim is to make Europe known to its citizens and to unite them around the values it shares. In its rooms, a programme of events offers debates, meetings, exchanges with personalities, as well as film screenings, cultural events and much more. Lieu d’Europe also has a resource centre run by the European Institutions Information Centre.

European Court of Human Rights

Based in Strasbourg since 1998, the European Court of Human Rights is an international court established in 1959 by the Council of Europe. It is responsible for the application of the Convention and its protocols and can be seized by a State or by an individual who considers himself to be the victim of a violation of his rights under the Convention.

Although visits are not allowed inside, it is possible to attend hearings at the European Court of Human Rights and information visits are available for law professionals and students.

crédits photos : P. HENRY, L. MORENO

Subscribe to our Newsletter, and don't miss any news in Alsace